Incredible Footage: Bajau Man Free Dives 65 Feet to Spear a Fish

BBC continues to fascinate us with their newest series, “Human Planet” which travels to eighty of the most remote locations on Earth to uncover and share stories about man’s relationship with the natural world. Their findings are remarkable and completely awe-inspiring.

In January, “Human Planet” introduced the world to the Bajau tribe in South East Asia. The Bajau are nomadic, seafaring people, appropriately nicknamed the sea gypsies of Malaysia. They are dependent on the sea for survival and as such have adapted to become highly skilled free divers. Traditionally, they live in stilt houses above the ocean and are born, live and die at sea, only coming ashore to bury the deceased and build new boats.

Meet Sulbin. He is part of a Bajau village off the coast of Sabah, Borneo. Sulbin is a master freediver who can hold his breathe for up to 5 minutes at depths of over 65 ft. Watch the incredible footage of Sulbin spear fishing near his village.

Sulbin enters a trance-like state before the diving into the water:

I focus my mind on breathing. I only dive once I’m totally relaxed

Sulbin will continue fishing for the rest of the day until he has enough food to feed his family for dinner. This is a beautiful depiction of how man is interconnected with nature. Amazing!

4 thoughts on “Incredible Footage: Bajau Man Free Dives 65 Feet to Spear a Fish

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own website now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    • Thank you so much for your feedback! Blogging is new to me as well, it has been a very rewarding project thus far. It’s easy to write about the things you enjoy doing. Good luck in your writing endeavors and I hope you’ll stay tuned!

  2. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

Leave a Comment

