TGIF Song of the Week – The Piña Colada Song

What comes to mind when you think of the 80’s?

I immediately visualize loud colors, big hair, jumpsuits, and geometric shaped…everything. Music was much more feel good and light heartened than the social activism-inspired songs of the 60’s and 70’s and the bleeding-heart grunge inspired sounds of the 90’s.

The song “Escape (The Piña Colada Song)” by Rupert Holmes is a direct reflection of the tone and style of the 80’s era. The song itself may not have defined the decade but it quickly became (and still remains) a quirky and timeless classic.

The lyrics were inspired by a want-ad Rupert read while idly perusing the personals. As he put it, “I thought, what would happen to me if I answered this ad? I’d go and see if it was my own wife who was bored with me.” The chorus originally started with “if you like Humphrey Bogart”, which Rupert changed at the last minute, replacing the actor’s name with the name of the first exotic cocktail he could think of.

Today, because of its silly melody and descriptive nature, the song is an incredibly popular boating song.  You can almost sense the waves, the sun, and a Piña Colada in your hand as you follow along. We’ve played this song on a couple of our cruising events and it’s always a crowd pleaser.

Enjoy! (and since this song will likely have you craving a Piña Colada, we’ve included a recipe that is great for entertaining out on the water)

Piña Colada Recipe

6 oz Bacardi black rum
8 oz Coco Lopez cream of coconut
8 oz pineapple juice
1 pineapple wedge

Combine rum, cream of coconut and pineapple juice in a regular sized blender. Blend on low speed, and fill with ice. Blend on high speed until ice is grainy. Pour into a hurricane glass, garnish with a pineapple wedge, and serve.

Have a great weekend everyone!

I was tired of my lady,
We’d been together too long,
Like a worn out recording,
Of a favorite song.
So while she lay there sleepin’,
I read the paper in bed,
And in the personal columns,
There was this letter I read.

If you like piña coladas,
And getting caught in the rain,
If you’re not into yoga,
If you have half a brain,
If you like making love at midnight,
In the dunes of the cape,
Then I’m the love that you’ve looked for,
Write to me and escape.

I didn’t think about my lady,
I know that sounds kind of mean,
But me and my old lady,
Had fallen into the same old dull routine,
So I wrote to the paper,
Took out a personal ad,
And though I’m nobody’s poet,
I thought it wasn’t half bad.

Yes I like piña coladas,
And getting caught in the rain,
I’m not much into health food,
I am into champagne,
I’ve got to meet you by tomorrow noon,
And cut through all this red tape,
At a bar called O’Malley’s,
Where we’ll plan our escape.

So I waited with high hopes,
And she walked in the place,
I knew her smile in an instant,
I knew the curve of her face,
It was my own lovely lady,
And she said, “Aw, it’s you”,
Then we laughed for a moment,
And I said, “I never knew”.

That you like piña coladas,
And gettin’ caught in the rain,
And the feel of the ocean,
And the taste of champagne,
If you like making love at midnight,
In the dunes on the cape,
You’re the lady I’ve looked for,
Come with me and escape.

If you like piña coladas,
And getting caught in the rain,
If you’re not into yoga,
If you have half a brain,
If you like making love at midnight,
In the dunes on the cape,
Then I’m the love that you’ve looked for,
Write to me and escape.

Leave a Comment

